Jennifer McNelly, Institute President
Jennifer McNelly, President, The Manufacturing Institute
Latondra Newton, Toyota North America
Latondra Newton, Group Vice President, Toyota and Chair, STEP Ahead
Honorees enjoy the reception
Guests stand to recognize 122 honorees
Honorees line up on the grand staircases

Washington, DC, -  Tonight, The Manufacturing Institute, along with Deloitte, Society of Manufacturing Engineers, and University of Phoenix, honored 122 women at the inaugural Women in Manufacturing STEP Awards at the National Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, D.C.

“We recognize these women for their technical achievements and leadership across a broad range of manufacturing careers—from welders and quality inspectors, designers, engineers and CEOs,” said Jennifer McNelly, president, The Manufacturing Institute. “These women’s stories showcase excellence in science, technology, engineering, and production, and make a collective statement about the importance of the industry to our families, communities, and the nation.”

Speakers included:

Jennifer McNelly, President, The Manufacturing Institute 
Jay Timmons, President and CEO, National Association of Manufacturers    
Craig Giffi, Vice Chairman, Deloitte LLP
Gregory W. Cappelli, Director and CEO, Apollo Group, Inc. and Chairman, Apollo Global Inc.      
Jeannine Kunz, Director of Professional development, Society of Manufacturing Engineers
Latondra Newton, Group Vice President, Toyota Motor North America
Karen Gilgenbach, Weld Process Specialist, Airgas USA, LLC  
Kellie Johnson, President,  ACE Clearwater Enterprises

The STEP Awards are part of the larger STEP Ahead initiative, launched to examine and promote the role of women in the manufacturing industry through Recognition, Research, and Leadership.

Learn more about STEP Ahead.

View the 2013 STEP Awards honorees.

Related Tags:

MI News

© 2019 Manufacturing Institute
733 10th St. NW, Washington, DC 20001