The Manufacturing Institute has postponed its annual STEP Ahead Awards program from April 30, 2020 to a later date. We look forward to recognizing this years' Honorees and Emerging Leaders for their accomplishments at a future event.

This decision was based on the most recent designation, by the World Health Organization (WHO), of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) as a pandemic and in line with CDC guidance on large events and gatherings. We remain committed to honoring the achievements of our 2020 Honorees and Emerging Leaders and will share full postponement details (dates, location and other relevant information) in the coming weeks.


The Manufacturing Institute has announced the 2020 STEP Ahead Award Honorees and Emerging Leaders. These women have accomplished success within their companies and have proven to be leaders in the industry as a whole. This year, the Institute has also chosen to recognize a select few for the Emerging Leaders category – representing young women who are the future of the industry and have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments at just the beginning of their careers.

The following 130 women will be honored at the 2020 STEP Ahead Awards on April 30, 2020 at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. Take a look at the amazing stories of these impressive women.

2020 STEP Ahead Award Honorees & Emerging Leaders

Joydma Alamo
Caterpillar Inc.

Erin Amarello*
The Timken Company


Lorraine Amesbury Holder

Jean Angus
Saint-Gobain Corporation

Mallory Apperson*
Polaris Industries Inc.


Haydee Arreola Nocar
McCormick & Company, Inc.

Decie Autin
Exxon Mobil Global Projects Company

Kathryn Bacon
Harley-Davidson Motor Company                 


Andrea Baker
Ashley Furniture Industries, Inc.

Lauren Baker

Courtney Balliet


Meena Banasiak
Phoenix Closures, Inc.

Dacia Benoit
Molson Coors Beverage Company

Jeanne Biber
Harley-Davidson Motor Company


Maria Blase
Ingersoll Rand, plc

Annette Booker
Samsung Austin Semiconductor

Jane Boyce
True Vue | Apogee Enterprises, Inc.


Jennifer Brady*
Newport News Shipbuilding

Christine Breves
United States Steel Corporation

Meghan Brown*
Eli Lilly and Company


Kim Brunner
Schwan's Company

Robin Burns
Intel Corporation

Nancy Cameron
BWX Technologies, Inc.


Natasha Carter
Ingredion Incorporated

Samantha Case*
Kennametal Inc.

Amy Chi
Ball Corporation


Kathryn Childs
Welbilt, Inc.

Leah Christakes
The Sherwin-Williams Company

Laura Christobek*
The Procter & Gamble Company


Karen Cooper
Toyota Motor North America

Tracy Corbin
Shaw Industries Group, Inc.

Bianca Covington
Samsung Austin Semiconductor


Susan Cronin
Forest Laboratories | Allergan

Rhonda Dannenberg
Molson Coors Beverage Company

Emily Davis
McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing | Oshkosh Corporation


Kristin Day
Whirlpool Corporation

Amber DePietro
Eaton Corporation

Melissa Depinet
Cooper Tire & Rubber Company


Anna Dibble
Cummins Inc.

Julie Eagle*
Ingersoll Rand, plc

Katie Ehrke
John Deere


Amie Emerson
Spirit AeroSystems

Colleen Emery

Michele Farro
Lockheed Martin Corporation


Evelyn Ferrer
Jabil Inc.

Katie Feser
Click Bond, Inc.

Nidia Garcia Araujo
Cargill de Honduras


Elise Gauthier
Stanley Black & Decker

Yvonne Giddings
Libbey, Inc.

Lauren Giroux
Plex Systems


Sonal Gola

Laura Guillott
Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems

Nora Harding
Special Products & Manufacturing, Inc.


Kate Heymans*
Dow Inc.

Kristy Higginbotham

Amanda Hodges*
BASF Corporation


Kayleigh Hogan*
Covestro LLC

Rania Hoteit
ID4A Technologies

Yami Hu
Brunswick Corporation


Sophie Hummer
Brown Forman-Corporation

Leslie Hyde
Koppers Inc.

Banasha King
Johnson & Johnson


Brandy King*
Greene Tweed

Gena Knight
thyssenkrupp Elevator


Hui Peng Koh


Michelle Kohr

Beatriz Landa
Novelis Inc.

Wilailux Lapwisuttisarod
Dow Inc.


Larkin Leach*
Cooper Standard

Elissa Lee
General Electric Company

Sheri Lewis


Fiona Lowbridge

Eithne Lynch
Boston Scientific

Janet Lynch
CertainTeed | Saint-Gobain Corporation



Vineeta Maguire
Ovintiv Services Inc.

Renee Matala*

Harvinder Matharu
Valvoline Inc.


Erica Matthews Grzebielucha*

Clare McCarthy*

Cheryl McKinney


Ericka Mendez
Toyota Motor North America

Erika Militch

Kim Miller
Thomas & Betts Corp | ABB Inc.


Rebekah Mills*
Lockheed Martin Corporation

Elizabeth Mitchell
Pratt & Whitney

Christy Morton
The Clorox Company


Karen Norheim
American Crane and Equipment Corp.

Kim Odell
Marathon Petroleum Corporation

Adeola Olubamiji
Cummins Inc.


Jody Piel
BASF Corporation

Lauren Powell*
Toyota Motor North America

Bella Qiu
Jabil Inc.


Cynthia Reid
Parker LORD

Genayee Richards
AK Steel Corporation

Lara Richerson
Siemens Energy, Inc.


Alyssa Roque*
Fresenius Medical Care

Michelle Ross
The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Kristin Roth
Rockwell Automation


Laurel Rowe*
Parker LORD

Evelina Rurek
Ashley Furniture Industries, Inc.

Ashley Sandlin*
Marathon Petroleum Corporation


Mary Beth Seasholtz
Dow Inc.

Kathryn Shuler
Air Liquide

Lauren Speaker*
GE Appliances, a Haier Company


Melissa Stiegler

Maria Alejandra Sucre
The Procter & Gamble Company

Megan Supan*
Smithfield Foods, Inc.

    Rebecca Tallon
A. O. Smith Corporation

Emily Tanasse*
3D Systems Corporation

Sarah Tannahill*
INEOS Olefins & Polymers USA


Theresha Taylor
Philip Morris USA

Lorie Tekorius
The Greenbrier Companies

Katy Theroux
Cornerstone Building Brands


Sarah Tommelein*
Whirlpool Corporation


Diane Townsend
Exxel Outdoors


Elizabeth Umberson
ZF North America, Inc.


Collene Van Mol
Martco LLC | RoyOMartin

Carolyn Vanous*

Wendy Wildenberg
Flint  Hills Resources


Allison Williams*

Emily Williams
Lindsay Corporation

Kim Williams
Ovintiv Services Inc.



Michelle Wilson*
Shaw Industries Group, Inc.

Nancy Wilson
Morrison Container Handling Solutions

Paula Wood
International Paper


Kelly Wright

Robyn Young
Kennametal Inc.

Meg Zehringer*
National Gypsum


Kelly Zhu
BorgWarner Inc.

Jessica Zirkelbach


*Asterisk indicates an Emerging Leader

© 2020 Manufacturing Institute
733 10th St. NW, Washington, DC 20001