The Council is composed of educators/officials representing K-12, community and technical colleges, and colleges and universities. Members of The Education Council are leaders in education, with the expertise to assist in developing national strategies to expand and enhance our manufacturing workforce. Members provide substantial input to the policies and solutions being designed and implemented by The Manufacturing Institute, have opportunities to partner in major initiatives focused on education and workforce development reform, and network with the manufacturers driving innovation and productivity.


Dr. Bryan Albrecht
Gateway Technical College
Kenosha, Wisconsin

Ms. Tracy A. Ariel
Director, Advanced Manufacturing Centers
Board of Regents for Higher Education
Connecticut State Colleges & Universities
East Hartford, Connecticut

Dr. Marilyn Barger
P.I. and Executive Director
Florida Advanced Technological Education Center
Tampa, Florida

Dr. Cynthia A. Bioteau
Florida State College at Jacksonville
Jacksonville, FL

Ms. Sherry Coker
Center for Workforce Development
Ozarks Technical Community College
Springfield, Missouri


Dr. Roy Church
Lorain County Community College
Elyria, Ohio

Dr. Sally Downey
East Valley Institute of Technology
Mesa, Arizona

Dr. Thomas Eckert
Blackhawk Technical College
Janesville, Wisconsin

Dr. Kenneth L. Ender
William Rainey Harper College
Palatine, Illinois

Dr. Glen Fenter
Mid-South Community College
West Memphis, Arkansas

Dr. Blake Flanders
Vice President
Workforce Development
Kansas Board of Regents
Topeka, Kansas

Dr. Timothy V. Franklin
Associate Vice-President for Business & Economic
   Development and Special Advisor to the President
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Office of Research and Development
Newark, New Jersey

Dr. Tom Friedmann
Superintendent/Chief Executive Officer
Francis Tuttle Technology Center
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Dr. Gary M. Green
Forsyth Technical Community College
Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Dr. Steve Head
Lone Star College System
The Woodlands, Texas

Dr. Richard E. Helton
Vincennes University
Vincennes, Indiana

Dr. Deneece Huftalin
Salt Lake Community College
Salt Lake City, UT

Dr. James B. Jacobs
Macomb Community College
Warren, Michigan

Dr. Para M. Jones
Stark State College
North Canton, Ohio

Dr. Lee Lambert
Pima Community College District
Tucson, AZ

Dr. Dawn Lindsay
Anne Arundel Community College
Arnold, Maryland

Mr. Carlos L. Margo
Interim Executive Director
South Texas College
McAllen, TX

Dr. Michael B. McCall
Kentucky Community & Technical College System
Versailles, Kentucky

Dr. Patricia L. McKeown
Bellingham Technical College
Bellingham, Washington

Dr. David R. McKinnis
Director and Associate Vice Provost for Engagement
Technical Assistance Program
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana

Dr. Roderick Nunn
Interim President
St. Louis Community College at Forest Park
St. Louis, Missouri

Ms. Susan Palisano
Director of Education Initiative
Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology
East Hartford, Connecticut

Dr. Annette Parker
South Central College
Faribault, MN

Mr. Frank Pugh
Board of Directors - California School Boards Association
Board of Directors - National School Boards Association
Faculty Member - Santa Rosa Junior College
Santa Rosa, California

Dr. Teresa A. Helmlinger Ratcliff
Assistant Vice Chancellor OEED, Executive Director,
Industrial Extension
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina

Dr. Carmel Ruffolo
Corporate Engagement & Regional Development
University of Wisconsin
Kenosha, WI

Dr. Mel Schiavelli
Interim President
Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale, Virginia

Dr. Thomas J. Snyder
Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana

Dr. James G. Vaughan
Center for Manufacturing Excellence
F.A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Engineering
The University of Mississippi
University, Mississippi

Dr. Promod Vohra
Dean, College of Engineering & Engineering Technology
Northern Illinois University
De Kalb, Illinois

Dr. Timothy R. Welsh
Senior Vice President
Apollo Education Group

Dr. Federico Zaragoza
Vice Chancellor of Economic and Workforce Development
Alamo Colleges
San Antonio, Texas

Dr. Tony Zeiss
Central Piedmont Community College
Charlotte, North Carolina







© 2015 Manufacturing Institute
733 10th St. NW, Washington, DC 20001